Regular Issue

顯示第 1 筆至第 5 筆,總共 5 筆

第 11 卷・第 2 期
發行於 十二月, 2007

如何解釋選民在地方選舉的投票行為?不同層級的地方選舉之間是否有聯合競選?這兩個問題在過去由不同的分析途徑所處理,前者是應用調查資料而進行的選舉行為研究,後者則是根據訪問、觀察、歷史分析等質化方法。此次三合一選舉中的課題之一是選民行為是否因為同時舉行三種層級的選舉而受到影響,因此本研究試圖結合問卷調查資料以及地方派系人士的田野訪談,一方面分析濁水縣選民的投票行為,另一方面釐清地方派系的動員方式。根據TEDS 2005M資料,我們發現選民的縣長投票選擇受到政黨認同及縣議員投票選擇的影響;而根據田野訪談,得知縣長、鄉鎮長、縣議員之間的合作程度並不明顯,間接否定不同層級選舉之間相互影響的假設。之所以選定濁水縣是因為兩個政黨的競爭程度相當接近,而且田野資料豐富。本文同時呈現量化與質化研究的視野,開拓地方選舉研究此一重要領域。

蔡佳泓, 王金壽, 王鼎銘

2000年總統大選民進黨贏得勝選,取得中央政府執政權,我國中央層級政權首次進行政黨輪替,並產生「分立政府」(divided government)的體制型態。關於分立政府是否有礙於國家總體經濟表現,迄今仍是學界爭議的焦點。本研究以我國中央政府為分析對象,比較1992年至2000年國民黨執政的 「一致政府」(unified government)時期,與2000年至2006年民進黨掌握行政權的分立政府時期,整體經濟表現是否具有顯著差異。變數檢定與實證結果顯示,政府體制、實質政府支出,以及銀行利率等變數,對於國民生產毛額的變動具有顯著影響。就政府體制的影響來說,本文推論,在一致政府時期,政府整體施政較為順暢,因此促使國家經濟表現較佳;反之,在分立政府時期,由於府會僵局和政策滯塞,造成政府整體施政困境,使得經濟表現將受到負面影響。在結論中,本文摘述實證分析要點,...

吳重禮

組織研究之中,論及組織-環境關係者頗眾,但政治、社會領域所特別關注的自發協會,相關研究卻十分有限,中文論著尤其罕見。有鑒於此,作者乃以中國大陸的台商協會為案例,通過組織經濟學角度,結合社會資本、政治資本、專享福利等組織分析框架,說明自發協會所運作的制度環境,將如何影響其組織效能。具體而言,根據作者調查發現,處於中國大陸的制度環境中,上有強勢的國家機器,下有有力的社會網絡,協會規則又無法提供會員「專享福利」,台商協會的組織效能因而深受侷限。此項研究的經驗資料,來自兩位作者於2004到2007連續四年,在對岸四個城市台商社群的田野調查所得。

耿曙, 林瑞華

各國推動永續發展多數以「經濟、環境、社會、政治」等面向作為衡量指標,以高高屏地區常見的「登革熱傳染病」為例,傳染流行涉及「環境」(孳生源與傳染源)、「社會」(社區動員與境外移入)、「經濟」(產業升級與特色產業)與「制度」(風險認知、聯合防治機制)等多元因素,本研究從判斷分析觀點,採用「社會判斷途徑」為研究方法,以「環境、社會、經濟、制度」等作為「傳染病防治多元整合」的決策參考變數,探討高高屏地區民眾與政府防治人員的「環境正義」認知對推動地區永續發展之影響。研究結果發現多數認為「環境」面因素是第一優先指標,其次為「制度」與「社會」面因素,「經濟」面因素則為最不注重的決策指標。據此建構「高高屏地區民眾的環境正義認知模式」,作為制定適合高高屏地方生態環境的行動策略,以有效推動永續發展。

陳文俊, 陳建寧, 陳正廖

本文利用「台灣社會變遷基本調查四期四次國家認同組」面訪調查資料,探索台灣民眾在相關的兩個態度題組(包含外來人口影響與兩岸統合兩個五點量表)的回答模式。首先利用回答模式指標比較每一量表各種可能的回答模式。其次進一步作兩題組共九個題目的探索性因素分析,連續性指標之驗證性潛藏類別因素模型,以及包含與不含回答模式的類別性指標之潛藏類別因素模型分析;同時作各類分析的比較,進而確定可能影響測量誤差的回答模式。最後以多變量分析比較以上三種潛藏類別因素模型中態度類型的推估,尤其著重在包含回答模式與不含回答模式之間的差異。
結果顯示,四種回答模式指標指出非極端回答模式的傾向最高。三種因素分析結果顯示,利用類別性指標之四因素模型,產生兩個因素分別代表中立與極端兩回答模式,其模型適合度比兩因素模型比較理想。比較連續性指標兩因素以及類別性指標的兩因素與四因素共三種的潛藏類別因素模型之後發現,...

杜素豪, 廖培珊

Regular Issue

Displaying 1 - 5 of 5

Volume #11, Number #2

Published in December, 2007

In the past, survey data analysis was used to explain how people decide their voting choices in local elections, together with qualitative methods including interviews, observations, and historical accounts. One of the main themes in the three-in-one local elections in 2005 was the extent to which voting choices in the three elections were correlated. This paper combines survey data and field interviews of local factions in order to explore voting behavior in Loh Tsui County. According to the TEDS 2005M data, we find that voters’ decisions regarding the magistrate were only influenced by their views on the councilors and their party identification. Field interviews, however, indicate that the candidates for magistrate, councilor and mayor did not cooperate in this election, which partly confirmed the findings based on the quantitative research. Loh-Tsui County was chosen because there is ample qualitative data of a high level of party competition. This paper suggests that the quantitative and qualitative studies may be mutually supportive of each other and blaze a new trail in local politics.

Chia-Hung Tsai , Chin-Shou Wang , Ding-Ming Wang

The Democratic Progressive Party won the 2000 presidential election in Taiwan and acquired the ruling power over the central government, while the Kuomintang still controlled maintained a majority in the Legislative Yuan. When there is divided government, since different political parties control the executive and legislative branches, the operation of party government is weakened, as the two political institutions are in conflict with each other. This certainly makes responsible and efficient government an unattainable goal. However, the question concerning the consequence of divided government—does the national economy have poorer performance under divided government?—remains contentious. This study examines the differences in macroeconomic performance between the 1992-2000 unified government and the 2000-2006 divided government by estimating the impacts of the political and economic determinants on Taiwan’s gross national product (GNP). The findings indicate that the variables of the government system, government expenditures, and interest rates have significant effects on Taiwan’s GNP. The evidence confirms the assumption that distinct forms of government can influence the efficiency of governance, i.e., divided government tends to result in policy gridlock and political stalemate between the executive and legislative branches and consequently this is likely to negatively affect macroeconomic performance, and vice versa. In concluding, the key findings are reviewed, the limitations of this study are outlined and suggestions are provided for future research.

Chung-Li Wu

Taiwanese Business Associations are widely expected to be strong organizations, regardless of whether these views are based on news sketches or theoretical models. Yet according to our investigation, such expectations turn out to be completely mistaken—Taiwanese Business Associations are in fact quite weak. What has gone, then? According to our fieldwork, we argue that it is the strong state and powerful networks together that make these voluntary associations powerless. To prove our hypothesis, we propose a framework that draws from the theory of social capital, political capital, and selective incentives-to demonstrate how an organization’s effectiveness will be determined by its institutional environment. By this study, hopefully, we may shed some light on the institutional origins of the weak associations in Chinese society.

Shu Keng, Rui-Hua Lin

This article explores different response styles by using two scales representing attitudes toward immigrants and reunion across the Taiwan Strait. Data were collected from a face-to-face survey – the 2003 Taiwan Social Change Survey. A response style index was first used to compare response style across scales. Exploratory Factor Analysis, Latent Class Factor Model-continuous indicators and Latent Class Factor Model-nominal indicators were then used to compare the response patterns (styles) of the nine attitudinal items. Multivariate analyses with and without including response styles were finally compared across the three factor analysis-type models.
The results based on the response style index exhibited a tendency toward a mild response style. The three types of models indicated that the Latent Class Factor Model-nominal indicators for four latent factors provided a better fit than the others, while two response styles were derived from this model – the middle response style and the extreme response style. Concerning social-demographics, males, the ethnic minority in Taiwan, those who identified themselves as high, middle, or low class, and those with less than a primary school or more than a college education tended to choose middle points among the answering scales. On the other hand, females, the ethnic minority in Taiwan, those with less than a junior high school education, those who considered themselves to be middle or high class, and those who were less than 29 or more than 60 years old tended to choose extreme response categories. In conclusion, the identification of response styles revealed that the association between attitudes and two characteristics, namely, gender and social class, could be spurious. In other words, response styles should not be neglected in the examination of the two attitudes demonstrated in this article.

Su-Hao Tu, Pei-Shan Liao

An indicator for the epidemic infection rate places social pressure on the Sustainable Development Indicators in Taiwan, for the issue of infection disease prevention involves a multiplicity of factors related to the environment, society, the economy, and institutions. From the aspect of public health, geographical medicine and environmental medicine, while a number of researchers have studied the relationship between an epidemic and the environment, few studies have focused on society and the community. The environmental justice perceptions of both citizens and government officers always affect sustainable development.
In terms of the judgment aspect, this research employs the Social Judgment Theory approach, and takes its cues from the dimensions of the environment, society, the economy and institutions to investigate citizens’ and government officers’ environmental justice perceptions in the KKP region in Taiwan. The main research findings are that the environmental dimension is the most important indicator, followed by the institutional dimension, then the social dimension, and finally the economic dimension. Following these findings, the aim of this research is therefore to establish the priority indicator on environmental justice, to understand and resolve the environmental injustice, and to promote the KKP region’s sustainable development.

Wen-Chun Chen , Chien-Ning Chen , Cheng-Liaou Chen