Regular Issue

顯示第 1 筆至第 5 筆,總共 5 筆

第 14 卷・第 2 期
發行於 十二月, 2010

This paper seeks to examine why some countries have abolished the death penalty while others choose to keep it, given their popular opinions overwhelmingly favoring this tool to pursue justice. Taking Taiwan and Singapore as cases, this study demonstrates different approaches toward this controversial issue. In contrast to Singapore’s self-confidence on exercising its sovereignty, Taiwan has...

Helen Murphy

1990 年代以降的地區衝突、內戰或種族矛盾引發多起人道危機,其間出現的大規模集體屠殺與種族清洗踐踏了人權,造成了難以彌補的人道慘況,使得無數無辜生命因此消失,更殃及國際和平與安全。對於各種人道危機,是否應該進行干預的問題,引起不同論者之間的許多爭議,我們的焦點放在團合主義者如何回應這些爭議之上,文中探討人道干預道德及法律權利/本分,以及用權利/本分為框架的理論之限制。

梁文韜

指標一向是政府部門的重要管理工具,其所提供的數字除可提供決策者持續追蹤執行成效,修正政策目標之外,尚可透過此種具體解釋,輔助說明政策的產出與影響,向人民說明,正在進行中的政策,有其存在之必要性。因此,政府必須善用指標,以證明其所推動的政策具有正當性。爰此,本文嘗試評估台北水源特定區之水質管理情形,探討的問題聚焦於以土地管制為手段的集水區是否擁有相對較佳的水質?研究步驟是先針對特定區內之當地居民進行初測訪談,瞭解問題所在,並將訪談結果,參酌集水區永續指標,提出一套符合國內環境系絡的水質評比指標,主要包括社會、環境與經濟等三大面向。之後,針對國內四大集水區進行對照分析,以突顯台北水源特定區之水質管理情形。最後,再運用「分析網絡程序法」,針對政策相關人進行施測分析。研究結果顯示,台北水源特定區為我國目前唯一依都市計畫法劃設,以土地管理為手段的集水區管理單位,因而擁有相對較佳的管理績效。...

陳恒鈞, 黃渾峰

本文主要目的在於透過對美國著名哲學家李查.羅逖詮釋學觀點的檢討與所謂「詮釋政治哲學」的討論,顯示當代詮釋學理論對政治哲學研究所發揮的作用與影響。其中特別是來自於德國詮釋學大師高達美的「對話」與「教化」此兩個概念,對於社會與政治基本價值問題爭議的討論與解決具有相當正面意義。而這兩個概念,經過羅逖與提出「詮釋政治哲學」觀點的汪克這兩位哲學家的轉化,各自在其理論中,扮演著解決或定位基本價值爭議問題的重要角色。當然,這樣一種從詮釋學的角度來重新檢視傳統政治哲學任務或爭議的觀點,依然只略具雛形,而且同樣遭遇了傳統上,詮釋學應用於實際問題處理時所需面對的標準選擇的問題與質疑。但此種觀點的轉變至少提供了一種政治哲學研究的新方向,一種更符合當代哲學語言與詮釋學轉向的思潮脈絡,讓政治哲學能融入更新的元素,這也是所有學科能在時間洪流中,不斷保持自身生存的方法。

魏中平

參選人的競選花費是提供選民認識自己與政見最直接的媒介,長期以來國外文獻顯示選舉支出確實對選舉結果有著深遠的影響力,可惜國內學界受限於參選人資金資料的欠缺,相關研究一直付之闕如。本文利用政治獻金法通過後,監察院提供的第七屆立委參選人競選支出,分析以Jacobson(1978)為首的傳統競選支出理論,在台灣選舉應用的情形。此外,由於競選支出與選舉情勢之間具相互連動關係,因此一般迴歸式不可避免會產生齊時偏誤的問題,本文沿用國外相關研究所採的兩階段最小平方法(Two-stage leastsquares,2SLS 或TSLS)來分析相關數據。結果顯示,除政黨提名及現任者優勢等因素會影響參選者得票狀況外,競選經費的多寡更會直接衝擊選舉結果,而其實際對選舉結果的影響本文歸納出以下三點模式:第一,無論是現任者或是挑戰者,參選人本身的支出越多其得票率會越高;第二,同選區對手的支出越多,...

王鼎銘, 范恩邦

Regular Issue

Displaying 1 - 5 of 5

Volume #14, Number #2

Published in December, 2010

For the government, indicator measurements are a major means of demonstrating the legitimacy of policy. To provide a reason as to why a policy continues to exist, the government must utilize the indicator to justify its actions in carrying out its policy. Although indicator measurements are sophisticated, they may provide policy-makers with means to keep on monitoring and modifying their policy goals. In doing so, the main purpose of this paper is to measure the quality of the water of the Taipei Water Source Domain by comparison. The main point of discussion concerns whether is it a good way by means of land-use regulations to maintain the quality of water supply. The analysis proceeds as follows. First of all, the people who live in the Taipei Water Source Domain are interviewed. Secondly, by combining the results of the interview with the watershed sustainability indicator, this paper includes a set of indicators, including society, the environment, and the economy. Finally, a well-developed methodology, the Analytic Network Process, is employed to analyze the managerial performance of the Taipei Water Source Domain. By comparing four water conservation areas, the results show that the Taipei Water Source Domain has relatively better performance. The result also shows that land management, which integrates water, soil, and forest management, influences the performance of the water conservation area the most, and in turn outlines the importance of the special characteristic of the Taipei Water Source Domain as it is the only water conservation area in Taiwan designated by the Urban Plan Act. Although the Urban Plan Act in particular gives the Taipei Water Management Office the capacity of land management, the paper finally provides some suggestions for the Taipei Water Source Domain to improve the existing problems.

Hen-chin Chen, Hun-feng Huang

Regional conflicts, civil wars and ethnic antagonisms in the 1990s induced many instances of humanitarian crises. Massacres and ethnic cleansings seriously violated human rights and brought about reproachable humanitarian miseries and losses of thousands of lives. The legitimacy of humanitarian intervention has attracted much attention among international theorists, lawyers and philosophers. This paper examines the strengths and limits of solidarist arguments with reference to moral and legal rights/duties.

Man-to Leung

This article intends to provide a selected but cogent depiction of how theories of contemporary hermeneutics have influenced research in political philosophy based on a critical scrutiny of Richard Rorty’s hermeneutic theory and a discussion of the new-developing “interpretive political philosophy,” put forth by another American philosopher Georgia Warnke. Two important concepts, “Conversation” and “Bildung”, borrowed from German philosopher Hans-Georg Gadamer, play pivotal roles in Rorty’s and Warnke’s respective hermeneutic versions when they discuss how to deal with society’s controversy over its basic primary values and goods. This new hermeneutic approach to political philosophy is apparently only in its beginning stages and must both face and try to wrestle with some traditionally important hermeneutical problems on its road to maturity, as, for example, in the questioning of relativism and the criteria for adequacy. However, to the best of our belief, to learn and incessantly mix new elements from other approaches is one way for any discipline to survive as its faces various challenges over time.

Chung-ping Wei

This paper seeks to examine why some countries have abolished the death penalty while others choose to keep it, given their popular opinions overwhelmingly favoring this tool to pursue justice. Taking Taiwan and Singapore as cases, this study demonstrates different approaches toward this controversial issue. In contrast to Singapore’s self-confidence on exercising its sovereignty, Taiwan has been isolated from international society and thus has stronger incentives to use this issue as a means to attract attention and acknowledgement. Since bluntly abolishing the death penalty might encounter strong political opposition, the Taiwanese government has pursued this goal using a silent approach, i.e. by such administrative means as stopping approval of executions, rather than going through formal, symbolic legislation. By doing so the politicians and ruling party also benefit from gaining a reputation for good human rights records without triggering heated debates on this issue.

Helen Murphy

Campaign expenditure has been the most direct and efficient resource for candidates, since it provides the medium for the voters to know the candidates and their policy platforms. The previous literature also shows that the election result is profoundly influenced by the campaign spending. Unfortunately, there have been few related empirical studies in Taiwan prior to the passage of the Political Contribution Act. In this paper, we collect and analyze the campaign spending for the 2008 legislative election from the Control Yuan. Because of reciprocal causality between spending and the election outcome, two-stage least squares (2SLS) is adopted to capture the unbiased relationship between them. The results show that, in addition to the party nomination and the incumbency advantage, the campaign spending influences the election result in three different ways. First, regardless of whether he/she is an incumbent or a challenger, as long as the candidate spends more money, he/she may receive more votes. Second, the spending by the opponents in the same district has a negative impact on others’ votes. Third, the marginal return on the incumbent’s spending is less than that on the challenger’s. In general, the results confirm the traditional campaign expenditure theory based on Jacobson (1978)’s seminal work.

Ding-ming Wang, En-peng Fan